In love with Amsterdam

I’ve been to Amsterdam twice: in the spring of 2011 and to see in the 2016 new year. Both times I completely fell in love with the city. I could (and did) spend hours just walking around those streets and alongside the canals admiring the beautiful architecture and soaking up the atmosphere. It’s the friendliest city I’ve been to; everyone seems to be having a good time.

On my first trip my mum and I visited the Anne Frank museum twice as I was studying her life at the time. The queues were long but without a doubt it was worth it. After reading her diary, it was so surreal and moving to be walking around the tiny place she’d been in hiding.

The highlight of the trip at new year was our first night, which my boyfriend and I spent on a dinner cruise. Our trip coincided with a festival of lights, so we enjoyed a 4-course meal and plenty of wine whilst viewing Amsterdam and the light display at night. With our dinner cruise we booked the Heineken experience at a discounted rate. The museum is fun and interactive and of course involved drinking beer! The sex museum is also fascinating and fun and entry only costs a few euros.

Another place I loved visiting (as I’m a sucker for markets), was Waterlooplein outdoor flea market. It had a great variety of products and stalls which sold things from clothes to furniture and art to tacky souvenirs.

I made lots of great memories in Amsterdam and I hope to go there again soon!

Leave a Reply

